Gather Together

Yesterday, I stumbled across this little gem of a verse:

“Gather together, come, draw near, all you survivors of all nations. Come forward and urge your case, consult together”.

ISAIAH 45 : 20-21

I wanted in some way to encapsulate this universal truth in my creative contemplation of the verse and so chose to use a mandala stencil as my starting point in the center of the page.

Mandalas, in their purest form, are a symbol of the Universe in it’s ideal form. I used a stencil to create a predominantly blue-green mandala to represent the world. This forms the central element of my creative response to the text. In Asia creating a mandala is said to signify the transformation of the universe from one of suffering to one of joy. For me, the creation of this piece of contemplative art was a prayer for the transformation of oppressive and abusive religious systems.

The flower motifs echo the mandala structure. They follow the notion of transformation through rebirth/resurrection, representing hope and new growth. I decided to use bright pink hues on the outer edges of the blue-green mandala, as this newly transformed world bursts into flower.

In the bottom right hand corner the flowers provide sustaining nectar to a hummingbird. A free and universally loved bird that many cultures associate with bringing joy, happiness, healing and general good fortune.

Please visit Joy and a Thankful Heart to read my thoughts, reflections and musings on this passage.

If you live in the UK and have been affected by the content of this post you can find confidential support and a compassionate ear at VictimSupport or if your experiences are church related: Safe Spaces.

One thought on “Gather Together

Leave a comment